3rd times the charm… Oahu circumnavigation

Wow. This was the hardest thing I’ve done so far. 135 miles, 31 hours. It took me three tries, but I finally finished the damn thing.
.
.
I was describing this as like a really hard video game that you got really far in, but then all of your memory gets deleted and you have to start all the way over. Recover, train, do it again.
.
.
This would not have been possible without my crew. They followed me around in this white van all night and day and night and kept me hydrated, fed, and lubed. The van concerned a few people in the middle of the night 😆 one guy pulled over and said “MISS! They are trying to abduct you!”
.
.
I still haven’t processed all of it.. tbh I had a lot of doubts going into it because my training was kinda off the last few weeks. I have a really hard time motivating myself to train road and I crashed my car the week before so was dealing with chest/back pain with every breath at the start 😅 (it started feeling better after like 50 tho, I think running healed me!) from the start, I knew I was going to have to rely a lot on mental strength.
.
.
It was incredible to see so many people from the community come out to cheer/run! I love how running can bring people together and inspire us to work harder and be better humans as a whole. It was painful and exhausting and I wanted to stop so many times but quitting was not an option because it wasn’t just about me.
.
.
The last 20 miles were the hardest I’ve ever ran but I’m really proud of not stopping even when there were so many bus benches that looked so welcoming and all I wanted to do was sit.
When I finished I said “let’s not do that again” but now I keep thinking of all the ways I could do it faster.. I also am thinking about retiring from road running forever tho, so we’ll see. 😆
.
.
I’m recovering and feeling more human every day. I just feel so overwhelmingly lucky to have people in my life who support me in these quests to push limits, a body and mind that is willing to do it, and the time and ability to train. Thanks so much to everyone who came out or offered words of encouragement! #rimjob complete ✅😂

Ps I wore @altrarunning shoes the whole way & used @prevailbotanicals for pain

Questioning all of my life’s decisions with 20 miles to go…

Lots of publicity from this one.. follow links for podcasts/fkt site/other articles

https://fastestknowntime.com/fkt/anna-albrecht-oahu-circumnavigation-hi-2021-02-28

https://www.altrarunning.com/blog/oahu-red-team-fkt.html

https://runningmagazine.ca/sections/runs-races/pair-of-runners-beat-220k-fkts-around-hawaiian-island-of-oahu/

https://hawaiiultra.com/2021/03/18/show-25-anna-albrecht-marine-hurt-100-champion-fkt-hawaii-oahu-island-perimeter-run-135-miles-3109/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started